Steuben County Legislature

The County Legislature is the governing body of the County, exercising a wide variety of administrative, as well as legislative responsibilities as defined in the State Constitution and Statutes. Prior to 1984, the County was governed by a thirty-four member Board of Supervisors, each representing one of the County's thirty-two towns and two cities. Following approval by the voters in 1983 of a reapportionment plan, the County was divided into thirteen legislative districts. The resulting seventeen-member legislature, reflecting the "one man, one vote" principle, uses a weighted voting system based on County population. The votes represented by each legislator are shown.

Until a change in procedure adopted in 1994, County Legislators were elected for two-year terms, with all legislators coming up for re-election at the same time. In the 1995 election, half of the Legislators were elected to a four-year term, and half for two. Subsequently, all Legislators are elected to four-year terms, with half the Legislature running for election every two years. Additionally, the 1995 election instituted term limits for Legislators which limited them to serving three consecutive four year terms. In 2013, the Legislature put forth a mandatory referendum to the voters requesting authority to become a  Charter County, replacing the County Administrator position with a County Manager, and to change the elected County Treasurer position to an appointed Commissioner of Finance. This alternate form of government was approved by the electorate and was instituted in Steuben County on January 1, 2014. Furthermore, in April 2015, the term limit for Legislators was extended, allowing them to serve four consecutive four year terms.

Each January following an election, the Legislature holds a reorganizational meeting and elects a Chair and Vice Chair for the next two years. The position of Chair carries with it considerable authority and responsibility. The Chair appoints the members and Chairperson of each standing committee, and is an ex-officio member of each. The Chair presides over all meetings of the Legislature, and represents the County and the Legislature in various capacities, both ceremonially and as a member of various boards and organizations.

The Legislature is divided into six Standing Committees  to more efficiently carry out the responsibilities of County government. The  Finance Committee has the overall responsibility for preparing the County Budget to present to the Legislature, as well as an ongoing function in reviewing County financial affairs. The  Administration Committee is generally involved in the operation of the Legislature itself, as well as the internal affairs of County departments. Each of the other four committees oversees a specific aspect of County government.


District 1 – City of Hornell

Gary D. Swackhamer, Rep.

Paul E. Van Caeseele, Rep.

District 2 – City of Corning

Steven Maio, Dem.

Hilda T. Lando, Dem.

District 3 – Town of Bath

Guy R. Hammond, DVM, Rep.

Kelly H. Fitzpatrick, Rep.

District 4 – Cohocton & Wayland

John V. Malter, Dem.

District 5 – Prattsburgh, Pulteney, Urbana

K. Michael Hanna, Rep.

District 6 – Dansville, Hartsville, Hornellsville

Brian C. Schu, Rep.

District 7 – Avoca, Fremont, Howard, Wheeler

Aaron I. Mullen, Rep.

District 8 – Bradford, Campbell, Wayne

Jeffrey P. Horton, Rep.

District 9 – Cameron, Canisteo, Thurston

Wendy Lozo, Rep.

District 10 – Greenwood, Jasper, Rathbone, Troupsburg, West Union, Woodhull

Frederick G. Potter, Rep.

District 11 – Addison, Lindley, Tuscarora

Robert V. Nichols, Rep.

District 12 – Town Erwin

James Kuhl, Rep.

District 13 – Caton, Corning, Hornby

Scott J. Van Etten, Rep.

Carol A. Ferratella, Rep.


Click here for the 2022 List of Standing Committees

Click here for the 2022 List of Legislators' Contact Information

Reply email: