Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)

The SNAP division is responsible for determining eligibility for the federally mandated supplemental nutrition program. Eligibility is based on income and resource standards for family size and life situation. Visit NY State's myBenefits page.

SNAP Interviews at Initial Application & Recertification

We have received a federal waiver that allows issuance of SNAP benefits without an interview, provided that both of the following conditions have been met:

  • The applicant's identity has been verified and
  • All other mandatory information and verification has been provided and is valid:
    • Identity
    • Social Security number (as already required by federal law)
    • Residency
    • Gross non-exempt income (earned and unearned)
    • Disability
    • "Alien eligibility" (as already required by federal law)

Pursuant to the federal waiver, if either of these conditions has not been met, then an interview will be required according to regular interview policy and process. Under the federal waiver, interviews will still be required if any of the information submitted is unclear or cannot be verified through separate data matches.

We are aware that some clients are still receiving phone calls regarding missed interview appointments. While most interviews are waived, as outlined above, some clients are still required to have a phone interview.

SNAP Education Programs

For information about exciting SNAP Education programs please visit:

Issuance of Expedited SNAP

For applications eligible for expedited benefits, the only information that must be verified prior to the initial expedited issuance is the applicant's identity. Currently, under the federal waiver, an interview is not required for issuance of expedited benefits.

Important Information about your SNAP (Food Stamps) Benefits

Every October 1, SNAP benefits are adjusted to reflect changes in the cost of living.

Notice to all SNAP Recipients - October 2021 SNAP Standards:

How to Check the Balance for Your Snap Benefits to Know How Much You Have

New York State residents:

You may contact the SNAP Program at the Steuben County Department of Social Services at 607-664-2000 for more information.

Language Services

To access information regarding SNAP in a language other than English, please visit the NY State SNAP page or select one of the following links:

Nondiscrimination Statement

Aviso sobre Normas Antidiscriminatorias (PDF)

In accordance with Federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations and policies, the USDA, its Agencies, offices, and employees, and institutions participating in or administering USDA programs are prohibited from discriminating based on race, color, national origin, sex, religious creed, disability, age, political beliefs, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any program or activity conducted or funded by USDA.

Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for program information (e.g. Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact the Agency (State or local) where they applied for benefits. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at 800-877-8339. Additionally, program information may be made available in languages other than English.

To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form (PDF), (AD-3027) found online and at any USDA office, or write a letter addressed to the USDA and provide in the letter all of the information requested in the form. To request a copy of the complaint form, call 866-632-9992. Submit your completed form or letter to USDA by:

  • Mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture
    Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights
    1400 Independence Avenue, SW
    Washington, D.C. 20250-9410
  • Fax: 202-690-7442
  • Email Program Intake

With respect to public accommodations, New York State additionally prohibits discrimination based on gender identity, transgender status, gender dysphoria, sexual orientation, marital status, and military status.